gangkillo.blogg.se

Electric quilt lessons
Electric quilt lessons






The step-by-step lessons guide the reader through the basic tasks of drawing blocks, importing fabric scans and designing quilts.

ELECTRIC QUILT LESSONS SOFTWARE

Yet instead of the sides of the cross points being concave, the sides on my block are straight, just like a Maltese cross. This book is perfect for the new Electric Quilt 8 (EQ8) quilting design software user. Just like the cross pattee, on my block, the ends of the four cross points are flat. My block is a bit of a mix between the two. So I went out on a limb and named it Maltese cross variation even though it doesn’t look exactly like a Maltese cross. If a history geek like me had never encountered the word before I didn’t think it would resonate with folks. As for calling the block “cross pattee” I wasn’t too keen with the idea either. It was pretty interesting so I’ll attach links for both web pages to the images of the crosses below.Īs I was trying to think of a name for my block decided against using the name “Iron Cross” because it has negative connotations. While reading about its origins I came across a statement that said “It was ultimately derived from the cross pattée occasionally used by the Teutonic Order from the 13th century.” Well what the heck is a “cross pattee” I said to myself? Of course being the history geek that I am, I had to look up “cross pattee” and find out more about this symbol. I decided to look up the Iron cross on Wikipedia to find out more about the symbol. This was also done to facilitate foundation piecing.Īfter I was done I started to realize that my block looked like an Iron cross. Ready to get started with your Electric Quilt 8 Quilt Design software This beginner lesson is a great place to start Follow along with Jenny Novinsky from.

electric quilt lessons

I then used the “shape” tool to stretch one of the lines on the point heading towards the center. I also added a diagonal line across the points where the square used to be. An Import Fees Deposit may apply at checkout. Next I connected the nodes with a line to create the other side of the point. Electric Quilt Lessons for Beginners Book : Amazon.ca: Home. The reason I did this is because I needed the pattern to be compatible to foundation piecing. To do this turn off the “snap to grid points on worktable” button.

electric quilt lessons

I then used the “shape” tool to extend the remaining line to the edge of the block while trying to maintain the same angle as the original point. Next I converted two of the lines in the point to guides. I’m only going to work with one quarter of the block so I converted the rest of the lines into guides. I then deleted the square in the middle that I didn’t like. I selected the block for editing and then clicked the “Easy Draw” tab to edit the block.

electric quilt lessons

For Snapping Options, I made sure that the “snap to grid points on worktable” button and the “snap to nodes off drawing” button were on. I then set the grid to 2 blocks horizontal and vertical. To convert the block I started by setting up my worktable drawing set up with a block size of 6 inches and 48 snap points.






Electric quilt lessons